Preparing For Eternity

The Apostle Paul tells us that our citizenship is in heaven. When I think about this verse it can be hard to comprehend that. We live in a fallen world where death is viewed as the biggest tragedy in the world. Yet if we stop to think about eternity we would soon find ourselves eagerly waiting for our departure. The challenge is to think about this often. Isn’t that the challenge with the entire Bible in general? There are so many of Gods promises that I fail to reflect on that I am certain would turn my negative attitude into gratitude and awe of a God who sovereign.

God promises to give so much to his children and none of which we deserve. Peter tells us that our inheritance is unfading. He later in the same chapter tells us to set our hope fully on the grace that will be brought to us at the revelation of Jesus Christ. If I know all of this why do I still act, talk and live as if I will be here forever? In fact I find that this a common theme among Christians. We talk about life as if this is the only time we have to really live, and we treat eternity in heaven as an after thought.

When I bring my focus back to my citizenship being in heaven I am able to relax (most of the time). I am able to brush off much of the stress that the devil wants to pile on my shoulders. This truth allows me to ponder my real home where I will meet my real Father and my real Brother. It forces me to store up for myself treasure in heaven where there is a room that Christ prepared for me before the foundation of the world.

When I look at this verse it brings me back to my purpose on earth. I was called by Gods grace. There is nothing special in me that could possibly merit salvation. I am a sinner saved by the redeeming work of Jesus Christ. Nothing I do can impress God. I am here to bear fruit to bring glory to his name. I can only do that when I spend my time on this earth running home. Lord help us think this way.

“For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” (Philippians 1:21 esv)

“But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.” (Philippians 3:20 esv)

One thought on “Preparing For Eternity

Leave a comment